School Board

  • The official title of the governmental body legally responsible for the establishment of educational policies for the Hamburg Area School District is the Board of School Directors. The Board of School Directors is responsible to the state government and the local citizens for the education of pupils.

    Board members are elected to a four-year term in three geographical regions of the school district. The Borough of Hamburg constitutes one region. A second region is composed of the Townships of Perry and Windsor and the Borough of Shoemakersville. The third region lies west of the Schuylkill River and is made up of Strausstown Borough and the Townships of Tilden, Upper Bern and Upper Tulpehocken.

    Parents and residents are cordially invited to attend school board meetings. The Board of School Directors conducts a regularly scheduled public meeting each month in the Hamburg Area High School Community Room.

    Additional public board meetings for discussion of a particular phase of school board business are announced periodically. Examples of this type of meeting would be budget review sessions, building and construction reviews with architects, or information sessions with financial advisors. Public notice of all school board meetings is published.

    The "Sunshine Law" requires that "meetings of every agency at which formal action is scheduled or taken... shall be open to the public at all times." It further provides that "no public meeting of any agency shall be adjourned, begun, recessed or interrupted in any way for the purpose of an executive session," except that executive sessions may be held for specific purposes.