School Board Members

  • The Board of School Directors is responsible to the Commonwealth and to its local citizens for the education of the children of the Hamburg Area School District.  The Board sets the vision and goals for the District, and adopts policies that give the District direction to set its educational priorities.  The Board hires and evaluates the Superintendent, adopts and oversees the annual budget, manages the collective bargaining process for District employees.

    The Board of School Directors conducts regularly scheduled public meetings in the Hamburg Area High School Community Room.  The public is welcome to attend.  Those that wish to address the board should complete a Public Comment card and may do so when recognized by the chairperson during the public comment portion of the meeting.

    If you would like to email the Board of School Directors, please use the following link:


    James Mancuso, Solicitor, Richard Mextorf, Superintendent, Ryan Gebely, Board President, Cynthia Sunday, Board Secretary, Thomas DeAngelo, Board Vice-President  Row 2   Toni McFadden, Laura "Loll" Lesher, Tonia Krick, Steve Gilbert, Carson Adams, Birgit White 

    Ryan J. Gebely, President
    Thomas D. DeAngelo , Vice President

    Cynthia A. Sunday, Secretary (non member)
    Michele L. Zimmerman, Treasurer (non member)
    James Mancuso, Solicitor (non member)

    Board Members and email addresses

    Region 1 (Hamburg Boro)
    Daniel I. Sarna   
    Birgit H. White    
    Tonia S. Krick     

    Region 2 (Perry Township, Windsor Township, Shoemakersville Boro)
    Thomas D. DeAngelo
    Toni L. McFadden
    Steven C. Gilbert

    Region 3 (Tilden Township, Upper Bern Township, Upper Tulpehocken Township, and Strausstown Boro)
    Carson B. Adams
    Ryan J. Gebely   
    Laura "Lolly" Lesher